American / Romantic / Sandwiches / Steakhouses

Restaurant Review: Boeufhaus

Thankfully I have my foodie ways to discover new openings for those few restaurants that open without social media buzz…which totally peaks my interest even more. Add this to the fact that this restaurant is 2 blocks from my apartment, it was the perfect place to go for a celebratory last minute dinner when it was pouring rain on a weekend night. We tried calling for a last minute reservation but there was no answer…we were greeted by the nice hostess who had tables in the front area open but nothing in the back for a group of 4.
Let me preface this by saying I dislike going into detail about reservations and waits because experiences totally vary by customer and night but I am going to do that briefly only because the restaurant was SO nice and accommodating. The best part was I barely noticed our long wait because I was enjoying a few drinks…

We asked to sit at the bar and were in no rush to eat. We were drinking before our friends met us, but when they came there wasn’t a 4 top available. There was a couple at a table for 4 that was having one of those prolongedddd meals (can’t deny I’ve never been that person). So it was another 30 min before we sat down. Right before we got our table, the chef, bartender and hostess came over apologizing for our long wait and brought over 2 appetizers on the house. And they happened to be the two I was eyeing. So nice of them and totally unexpected.
I was shocked that this “cocktail bar” lacks a cocktail list however I actually like this in retrospect. They do have a special cocktail each night and they are willing to make anything for you. And I’m sure they’re great.
I stuck with my wine and we ordered the steak frites to share and our friends ordered dessert. Our only complaints of the night was just that the entree and dessert portions were small. But if you come here expecting that, you will not be let down! The fries were awesome with probably the best Bearnaise sauce I’ve ever tasted in my life. Steak definitely wasn’t medium like we ordered but my choice would have been medium rare so that was totally okay with me. Absolutely love the design and ambiance. Really cool old bar, dark lighting. And rumor that they are opening a deli at the front which would be very fitting for the front of the store. Also keeping in mind this is one of the first weeks since the opening, I love this place already and will be back!

Check out their website

Tip: Come for a date or a sandwich when they open the front deli counter

On the Menu:
Pastrami Croquettes: Rye Panko, Tallegio & Mustard Aioli
Shortrib Beignets: Braised Rib & Natural Jus
Steak Frites with Bearnaise Sauce

Shortrib Beignets

Shortrib Beignets

Pastrami Croquettes

Pastrami Croquettes

Steak Frites

Steak Frites

Leave a comment